Dawson finally elected to Hall of Fame (AP)

FILE - This is an Aug. 28, 1990, file photo showing Detroit Tigers pitcher Jack Morris throwing against the Seattle Mariners, in Seattle. The last time the Baseball Writers' Association of America failed to elect anyone to the Hall of Fame was 1996. It could happen again Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2010, with Roberto Alomar the top first-year candidate on a ballot that includes holdovers Andre Dawson, Bert Blyleven, Lee Smith and Jack Morris.

Andre Dawson has been elected to the Hall of Fame, while Bert Blyleven and Roberto Alomar fell just short of earning baseball's highest honor. Dawson received 420 of 539 votes in voting announced Wednesday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, 15 more than the 75 percent necessary to gain election.

Discuss | Bury Add To 

Log in to comment or register here.